top of page


the day dawn.jpeg

OUT WEST (2012)

In 2012 Mick Doherty and Robert Zielinski released their album OUT WEST to help preserve the musical legacy of Mick's family, in particular, some previously unheard versions of tunes handed down by Mick's father Hughie and grandfather Mickey Mor. This album was produced by The National Library of Australia and launched at Fairbridge Festival when Mick was 88 years old.

The album is available for download on Bandcamp.

​THE DAY DAWN (2018)

THE DAY DAWN is Robert's debut album and is the culmination of over twenty years work, with the first recordings made in Co Kerry when Robert was twenty-three (1998), and the latest in 2018 in Albany, Western Australia. On the countless occasions Robert attempted to record this album, he felt sessions left him wanting and frustrated as if something was not quite right. His brother was the first to suggest he gather up all previous takes from studios, friends, family members and technicians he had worked with. Soon enough, Robert realised his brother was right. 

Robert searched his archives specifically looking for takes where he remembered that something special happened during the performance, when his accompanist and he were playing just for the sake of it, forgetting they were being recorded or in a studio. Robert says he personally has, until now, found this state to be very elusive, knowing this is what led him to hold off on the release of an album. Robert believes albums should be a composition in themselves. When Robert realised The Day Dawn was complete he knew the many recording sessions had not been in vain. 

Across THE DAY DAWN Robert plays on six different fiddles, two of which he made himself. It was recorded in six different studios between Australia and Ireland with five different accompanists. 

THE DAY DAWN is currently being remastered with the addition of several new tracks that have turned up since the first release. These tracks include one very special tune with Sliabh Luachra fiddle player and old friend Paddy Jones, RIP. Robert has also reordered the tracks and is finally happy with the result. The remastered album will be available any day now. Please send a message through contacts and you will be notified as soon as it becomes available. 

THE TORBAY SUITE (Upcoming release, 2023):

The Torbay Suite is a 60-minute descriptive piece about the pristine Torbay Inlet and its surrounds in Western Australia's remote South Coast. The piece comprises of Torbay Day and Torbay Night. Torbay Day maps the inlet from dawn to dusk and Torbay Night from dusk to dawn. The Night was inspired by many nights spent around Robert's campfire and something that an indigenous friend once told him: nighttime is the only time you can see out of the holes in the blanket, the stars. 

Torbay Day

  1. Dawn

  2. Seasons of Youth

  3. Great Southern Raining

  4. The White Bird

  5. Sandbank

  6. The Dragonfly Set

  7. Donegal

Torbay Night

  1. Twilight Unbroken

  2. The Invite

  3. Blue Flower

  4. High Ridge Track

  5. Silky Water

  6. Sitting

  7. Minang Moon Lullaby

  8. Holes in the Blanket

  9. Dreaming

  10. In Sight of Home

  11. Campfire


Robert's playing also features on four other releases: AIDEN CRUISE AND ROB STAFFORD (Zielinski) (1990), TIM O'SHEA AND FRIENDS (1996), Tim O'Shea - 15 TIMES AROUND (2001), and Sam Blight - THE BOYA HOUSE (2010). 

bottom of page